In which one overlooks the pink elephant on the mantle.

8 December 2008

I tripped over my future last week – it had fallen off the bookcase where I had stashed it between a dictionary and some empty bottles. It was a blocky object, quite heavy, and curiously shaped. Its gears and locks and secret springs still looked as new as the day they were made. I mulled it over in my hands, the way you would a forgotten keepsake. Here was a thing held together by memory and possibility, and it arrested the mind like nothing else could. I brought it over to my desk and I’ve been staring at it intermittently since. 

 

youwontusethisiknow2

(from explodingdog

Leave a Reply

